The Bigger Picture

Lately it seems that people are not looking at the big picture of some hot button issues. Every time I open my computer or look at my phone, I see people tearing each other down, and arguing about things that couldn’t matter less. We have gotten away from the things that really matter. We should be respecting the opinions of others even if their opinion does not align with that of our own.

Since coming to college I have become a completely different person. I was closed-minded, only ate chicken fingers, and didn’t want to talk to many people that were “different” than me. Looking back now, I am really proud of the person that I have become. I may be judgmental sometimes, I’m not perfect, but I at least strive to keep my mind open, and that is all you can really do. As much as I like to think I am, I am not always right, and a lot of people need to start realizing this.

It is not my place to judge anyone for what they have done, are doing, or will do in the future. Whether you believe in God, a higher power, or just basic ethics, you should know that it is not right to judge your neighbor for what they do. What they do with their body, or property etc. is their business. Who am I to tell them how to live their lives? In order to live in a country amicably, we really need to get that across our thick skulls. You have a right to your opinions, and I have a right to my opinions. Let’s not impose our views on others, and instead have intellectual conversations about those issues that truly matter.

Leave a Reply

