Oh College, What Have you Done to me?

College. That time in your life that flies by in a blur. Parties, drinks, guys, the list goes on and on of your daily activities. “Oh it’ll be a blast,” they say, “It’ll be the time of your life!” they say. Well in my opinion they all lied.

My college experience has been nothing short of awful and hectic. All I ever hear is how important having a 3.0 is! Well I would like to tell those people to take their 3.0’s and shove it straight up their behinds.

I’m sure you know what it’s like to work your buttย off and not have anything to show for it (or maybe you’re a genius, unlike me). College is stressful, hard, and you get no sleep and can’t even hang out with your friends.

So this finally brings me to my point. I’m a wreck. I thought college was where you have the time of your life and figure out who you are. I’m figuring out who I am not pretty quickly, but have yet to find out who I actually am. Juggling school and a part time job to pay for school really puts a damper on things.

What do you do now? You have a terrible GPA, you have no clue where you want to go when you graduate (which in fact is rapidly approaching), and you have a small palm full of friends. Just a note, a palm full is less than a hand full if that gives you any insight into my current life.

If you find yourself in my situation, don’t dwell on it. Trust me. I am a basket case ninety percent of the time. I’m full of anxiety, my hair is a mess, and make up? Yeah what is that? I can’t remember the last time I brushed my hair before walking out of the house in the morning (not a morning person, never will be).

So, don’t be like me. I’m finally working on having that college experience everyone is talking about. Try not to do it with 18 credit hours a semester though if you want sleep, which I actually do. Here’s a small list of things I would recommend to do that I am currently working on trying myself:

1. Do Yoga, or any sort of exercise in between studying or anything else.

2. Write in a blog! I abandoned mine a few years ago, and I’m so glad I’ve aged since (embarrassing).

3. Make it a point to get out of the house. Go for a walk, or head to that new coffee shop down the block. Sit down for awhile and just relax.

4. Read that book you’ve been dying to read. I know you’re busy, but if you take some time for yourself you will feel so much better in the end.

5. Take a breath. Relax for a few minutes, and don’t rush. Just stay calm, and everything will work out in the end. I know that sounds cliche, but think about it doesn’t it usually work out?

My last point I will leave you with is this: be yourself. You may not know who that is, but I’m figuring out not knowing is what it’s all about. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Story of my life, bro..
2 thoughts on “Oh College, What Have you Done to me?

  1. I thought I was going to have to leave a comment saying, “You will get it together, don’t worry!” but I don’t think I have to. Great bullets of advice though ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

